Rules question – what if the ball hits the net post?

I was recently asked this question.  “If a ball hits one of the net posts, and then bounces in, is it legal?”  The answer is, NO.

The IFP Rules book states the following:

  • Rule 12.I – The Net Posts:   The net posts are positioned out of bounds. If a ball strikes the net post or anything attached to the net post, it is a fault and a dead ball is declared. This rule does not include the net, the net cable, or rope between the net posts.

You should know that if the ball hits the wire or string between the edge of the net and the net post and lands in, it IS legal.  However, the ball may not travel between the top and bottom net wires.

I know for some, that brings up a further question.  “What if the ball hits the horizontal support bar of a temporary net, or the center foot?”

  • Rule 12.J.5 –  When net systems have a horizontal bar that may include a center base:   If the ball hits the horizontal bar or the center base before going over the net, it is a fault. If the ball goes over the net and then hits the horizontal bar, the ball is still in play. If the ball goes over the net and then hits the center base or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before touching the court, it is a let and must be replayed. (added April 1, 2011)

You may also have heard about shots that are hit “around the post.”  Perhaps your opponent hit a shot that caused you to run outside of the court to the right or left to get to.  Your return shot does not have to cross over the net.  As long as it lands in your opponents court, it can travel around or to the side of the post, and can even be below the height of the net!  Those shots are very exciting to watch, and even more exciting when you’re the one who just hit it!

Check out this video from Pickleball Channel  which is a great shot of an around the post shot!

around the post

Click for a great video of an around the post shot!

As always, when in doubt of a rule, refer to the IFP rules book!

FOLLOW CRAZY PICKLEBALL LADY!  Get an email immediately each time I make a new post!  Provide your email address and click FOLLOW at the top of the right column.  Then, share Crazy Pickleball Lady with your pickleball friends by clicking on the Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn icons below.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Rules question – what if the ball hits the net post?

  1. Hi.
    My partner returned a serve into play, but mistakenly called the serve out. I overruled her, and although the other team did not hit a winner and we did not miss a shot, she said the opponent gets the point, instead of replaying the point as we would in tennis. True? I know if she missed the shot, or maybe even if the opponents hit a winner that we did not try for, they would get the point. I cannot find anything about this specifically online.
    Thanks,
    Dan Thomas

    Like

    • Hi Dan,
      I will get back to you on this. The IPF site where the rulebook is online is not loading this morning, and my paper rulebook is in my guestroom…where a guest is sleeping! So I’m off to play golf this morning and hope to get to it later today.
      In the meantime, what I can tell you is that when there is a disagreement between partners as to whether the ball was out or not, the judgement goes to the opponents. I’m guessing you know this. Your partner is correct that you do not replay the shot. A decision has to be made. In your description, if your opponents stopped play because she called the serve out (after the ball touched the ground), they could argue that they stopped play because of it. Now if she called it out before it touched the ground (which it doesn’t seem like she did because she hit it back) it would have been player communication, but that would likely occur if she was telling YOU it was out.
      I guess a further question would be to ask you……at what point did you overrule her call…..immediately, or after the ball was dead, and did the opponent claim that they stopped play when she called the ball out? If so, it would be theirs.

      I know there is a rule that discusses player calls. When I get home, I’ll see if I can get to the site, and if not, I’ll go to my print copy!
      Thanks for the question!

      CPL
      Betsy

      Like

    • Hi Dan,
      I’m back home and was able to get to the IFP rulebook. There is a rule that will answer your question.
      Section 6 Line Call Rules
      6.D.10.
      In doubles play, if one player calls the ball “out” and the partner calls it “in,” then doubt
      exists, and the ball must be declared “in” (except that any player may appeal a call to the
      referee in an officiated match).

      Hope this answers your question!
      CPL- Betsy

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s